Skip to main content

Feather River College Library: The Library

FRC Library Hours

Fall & Spring Semesters
Monday - Thursday
8 am - 9 pm
Friday
8 am - 4:30 pm
Weekends
Saturday: closed
Sunday: 4 pm - 8 pm (computer lab only)
Holidays
Closed

Contact Information

Phone:

  530-283-0202 x236

Fax:

  530-283-4097

Email:

  library@frc.edu

Website:

  http://library.frc.edu

Welcome to the FRC Library!

Welcome!

Are you new to the FRC Library? Get to know us and get started on your research. Spend a little time exploring the tabs at the top to become better acquainted with us, our services, and our resources. We are here to help you. Come by anytime, we'll be happy to assist you!

Sincerely,

The FRC Library Staff

Explore the tabs:
The Library: Find general information about the FRC Library including hours, privideges, obligations, resources and services.
Subject Guides: Find the right subject guide to help you.
Successful Student: Discover resources to help you succeed in your college career.
Research: An introduction to the library research process.
Books: How to find books at the FRC Library.
Article Databases: How to access articles and databases.
Videos: How to access FRC's collection of streaming videos.
Choosing Keywords: How to find information for your research using a keyword search.
Citing Sources: Information and links to sites showing you how to cite your references.
For Faculty: Resources to complement your classes and assist with relevant technologies.

Start Your Search Here

Check out what's new at the library here.

Off-campus users please click here to search for articles using your FRC username and password.

Search all EBSCOhost databases
Limit Your Results

Note: Users may need to log in with their FRC email username and password.

Click here for the streaming video home page or enter keywords into the search box below.

Alphabetical listing

Non-EBSCOhost databases are indicated with italics and are not included in the All EBSCOhost Databases search option

A

B

C

E

F

G

H

J

L

M

N

P

R

S

T

U

W

Loading

About the FRC Library

Why Use the Library? 1. Not everything is on the Internet. Availability to browse and read books, magazines, encyclopedias, and other print materials that are not on line.
  2. Not everything is free. Access to fee-based databases with thousands of magazines and scholarly journals in full text.
  3. The Library Director, in consultation with FRC faculty, spends time selecting quality materials: books, journals, and databases. We collect scholarly and authoritative materials especially for your classes.
  4. Personal assistance through FRC Library Director and assistants.
Library Privileges: Borrowing privileges and access to the FRC Library Computer Lab are available to all currently registered FRC students, FRC employees, and members of the FRC Board of Trustees.
Library Obligations: Borrowers are responsible for returning materials on time. The fine for overdue books is $0.10 per book per day, excluding weekends and holidays, up to a maximum of $10.00 (not including lost book charges). All overdue books must be returned and fines paid before additional books may be checked out. For books borrowed from another library, the fine is $0.50 per book, per day. For reserve material, the fine is $2.00 per day. There is no grace period for interlibrary loans or reserve material.
Lost books: The charge for a lost book is our replacement cost plus a $15.00 processing fee and any remaining fines. For "Spinner" paperbacks, the charge is a flat $15.00 plus fines. The charge for books borrowed from another library is whatever that library normally charges its patrons.
Library Resources & Services: Books - The FRC library has a collection of 24,000 print books and over 100,000 electronic books. Print books are checked out for two weeks and the due date is stamped in the book. Up to six books may be on loan to one person at a given time, but no more than three books on a specific subject. If a book is still needed after the two-week period and no one else has requested it, it may be renewed. Books may be renewed in person or by phone during library hours.
  Interlibrary Loans - If the FRC library does not have a book you want, it can often be obtained from another library. Most interlibrary loans are transacted through North State libraries because the service is fast and delivery of the material is free. If there is a charge for interlibrary loan material, you will be notified before a request is sent.
  Non-Print Media - The library owns approximately 2,800 DVDs, Blu-rays and videocassettes and subscribes to over 28,000 full-length streaming videos. Access to the titles and subjects of media in the collection is through the Book and Media Catalog. Students are welcome to use any of the physical media in the library and can access the streaming videos from the library website. Faculty may check out physical media for use in the classroom.
  Computers Lab - 30 workstations are available in the library for patrons to perform academic research, word processing, spreadsheets and other related tasks. There are also 73 wireless internet-accessible stations/ports available for student laptops. Library patrons are issued a network account in order to use the computer lab.
  Journal Periodicals and Electronic Databases - The library subscribes to over 100 print magazines and newspapers in addition to 10,000+ full text journal titles through our electronic databases. These scholarly resources are selected for their relevance to the college curriculum. FRC library patrons may access the electronic resources from off-campus by providing the username and password issued with each network/e-mail account.
  Reserve Material - Frequently instructors will put material "on reserve" for a class. In almost all cases, it is material of a limited quantity that must be shared by many students. Reserve material is shelved behind the check-out counter. It usually has to be used in the library, or in some cases, may be checked out overnight. The check-out period is determined by the instructor.
  Copy Machine - The Library has a copy machine which makes copies at $0.10 per page single sided or $0.15 a page double sided. This allows magazine articles, reference, reserve, and other non-circulating material to be copied under fair use guidelines at a nominal cost.

On Display in January:

The Liberation of Auschwitz, Martin Luther King Day, and National Science Fiction Day

Robot Dreams

Robot Dreams

Print book

Dawn

Dawn

Print book

Schindler's List

Schindler's List

Blu-ray & DVD

Dune

Dune

Print book

The Death Camps

The Death Camps

Print book

The Survivors

The Survivors

Print book

Frankenstein

Frankenstein

Print book

The Resistance

The Resistance

Print book

Selma

Selma

Blu-ray & DVD

The Book Thief

The Book Thief

Print book

Fast Facts

Did you know...

  • In 2016-2017, reserve textbooks made up 50.4% of all circulations?
  • The new library website has already been viewed over 9800 times since January?
  • 10am - 11am was the busiest time for circulations during the 2016-2017 year?
  • 327 new items were added to the collection during the 2016-2017 year?
  • There were 2,286 circulations during the 2016-2017 year?

FRC Book in Common

The Devil's Highway hardcover The Devil's Highway paperback

Copies of The Devil's Highway by

Luis Alberto Urrea are available on

reserve at the front desk for library-use

only and on the New Book Shelf for 2 week loans.